Next Previous Contents

1. ABOUT THIS FAQ

1.1 What versions of Vim does this FAQ cover?

At the time of its creation, version 4.0 was almost complete (3.21 was already available) therefore the FAQ covers mainly vim4-specific issues. But some answers may apply to Vim 3.0. There are no plans to make the FAQ ``backward compatible''. ;-) In particular, in various parts of the FAQ, you will see mentions of ``:h subject'' to get help about a specific subject. Although the help command works in 3.0, you cannot give it an argument.

1.2 Who maintains this FAQ?

The current maintainer of this FAQ is Laurent Duperval. I can be reached at laurent@grafnetix.com. Please insert the keyword NOTSPAM in the Subject line of your message otherwise it may not reach me.

1.3 Why him?

Well, I volunteered. You could have done it too, had you volunteered before me. ;-) Besides, after getting so much free and useful stuff off the 'Net, I decided to give something back in the form of this FAQ.

1.4 Can I add to it?

Sure. Just send your questions (and answers!) to laurent@grafnetix.com. Comments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

1.5 What are the restrictions on this FAQ?

Disclaimer: This article is provided as is without any express or implied warranties. While every effort has been taken to ensure the accuracy of the information contained in this article, the author / maintainer / contributors (take your pick) assume(s) no responsibility for errors or omissions, or for damages resulting from the use of the information contained herein.

This article is Copyright 1996-1997 Laurent Duperval. You may distribute it as you wish provided this copyright and the above disclaimer is also provided. You may not sell it without express consent from the author. You may not distribute a modified version of this article without express consent from the author.

bram@vim.org Sven Guckes guckes@vim.org Robert Webb robertw@wormald.com.au George V. Reilly georger@halcyon.com Tony Nugent tonyn@sctnugen.ppp.gu.edu.au Ingolf Markhof ls12r.informatik.uni-dortmund.de> Stan Brown stbrown@nacs.net Raul Segura Acevedo raul@turing.iquimica.unam.mx Benjamin Elijah Griffin eli@NetUSA.Net Dr. Charles Campbell cec@gryphon.gsfc.nasa.gov


Next Previous Contents